Client Reviews Free Georgia Case Evaluation Georgia Video Librar Georgia DUI Attorney Fees

GA Alcohol Laws

GEORGIA DUI: A person under 21 is considered to be driving under the influence if his blood-alcohol content is .02 grams or greater. A conviction or guilty plea will result in a 6-month suspension of the driver's license. If the driver is .08 grams or greater, a guilty plea will result in a 12-month license suspension. An underage driver convicted of DUI also has to retake the written and driving tests to get the license reinstated when the suspension is completed. A person who is underage can not plea no contest to a DUI.

Minors purchasing alcoholic beverages: Can result in a fine, probation and 6-month suspension of driver's license. A second conviction calls for a 12-month suspension.

Minors attempting to purchase alcoholic beverages: Can result in a fine, probation and 6-month suspension of driver's license. If the person pleads no contest, he can avoid the suspension of the driver's license on the first offense. A second conviction calls for a 12-month license suspension.

Misrepresenting age for purpose of obtaining alcoholic beverages: Can result in fine, probation and 6-month suspension of driver's license.

Minors in Possession of Alcohol: If the person possess alcohol while operating a motor vehicle, a conviction will result in a 120-day suspension of driver's license, possible fine and probation. If the person is not operating a motor vehicle, there is no loss of driver's license, but still possibility of fine and probation.

Adults Furnishing Alcohol to Minors: The charge is rarely brought. Most of the times it will appear as contributing to the delinquency of a minor. Both charges are punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Selling Alcohol to Minors: It is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $1,000 fine. f-b f+iSource: Official Code of Georgia f+b f-i ALABAMA DUI: A person under 21 is considered to be driving under the influence if their blood-alcohol content is .02 grams or greater. A conviction or guilty plea will result in a 30-day suspension of the driver's license. An adult convicted of driving under the influence -- the legal limit is .08 grams -- faces a 90-day suspension of the driver's license. Alabama also has youthful offender status, which allows someone under 21 to have the conviction sealed and it does not become part of the person's permanent record.

Minors in Possession of Alcohol: If a minor is caught with alcohol in his possession, he can be charged with a misdemeanor offense and be subject to 30 days incarceration in the county/city jail. Additionally, depending on the jurisdiction in Alabama, court costs and fines can be up to $250.

Adults Furnishing Alcohol to Minors: If an adult furnishes alcohol to a minor, that adult can be charged with a misdemeanor offense and be subject up to six months in the county/city jail. Also, there is an Alabama law that specifically addresses adult allowing alcohol an an open house party. Under Alabama law, if an adult having control over a residence knowingly allows individuals under the age of 21 to drink alcoholic beverages, that adult can be charged with a misdemeanor and be subject to incarceration up to six months in the county/city jail. Additionally, depending on the jurisdiction in Alabama, court costs and fines for each of these situations can be up to $1,500.

Civil Action by Parents Against Adults Furnishing Alcohol to Their Children: A parent/guardian can file civil action against any adult who furnishes their minor child alcohol. The law allows a jury to award damages that it deems appropriate.

Source: Code of Alabama

Compiled by Chuck Williams

Article courtesy of http://www.ledger-enquirer.com/.



Ask A Lawyer A Question About Your Case Free Case Evaluation in Georgia