Georgia’s state gun laws are generally less rigid than many other states. But that does not mean there are not regulations and limits on how you may use your gun.
Violating those regulations can carry heavy penalties, including prison time. It is important to understand your rights and the limits on those rights and to consult with an experienced attorney. Contact a Milton gun lawyer if you have questions or face criminal charges.
What to Know About Gun Ownership in Milton
In Milton, it is not necessary to have a concealed carry permit to carry a gun in one’s own home, business, or vehicle. Carrying an unloaded gun in a case also does not require a permit. If someone has a valid fishing or hunting license, they do not need a permit to carry a gun while fishing or hunting. Openly carrying a long gun does not generally require a permit. In most other circumstances, a permit is necessary.
Carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit in areas where it is not explicitly allowed is a misdemeanor. Although Milton has a robust history of gun ownership, especially in rural counties, there are still harsh penalties for carrying a gun under certain conditions.
In Milton, convicted felons may not own or possess firearms. The possession or ownership of a gun by a convicted felon is itself a felony punishable by up to five years in prison if the previous felony conviction involved the use or threat of violence. Additionally, the use of a firearm or knife while committing a felony will result in a harsher sentence than a felony without the weapon. Contact a Milton gun lawyer to learn more about the federal law governing gun possession in Milton.
Firearm Laws and Potential Penalties
Georgia law forbids anyone to carry a firearm, and other weapons, in a school safety zone, at a school function, or on a school bus. If someone who possesses a valid concealed carry permit violates this law, they can face misdemeanor charges punishable by up to one year in jail, a $1,000 fine, or both.
A person who violates this law and does not have a valid concealed carry permit can face felony charges punishable by between two and ten years in jail, a fine of up to $10,000, or both. The penalty is harsher if the gun in question is a machine gun. Georgia statute 16-11-127.1 governs carrying a gun in school areas. There are also strict laws governing what types of guns an individual can carry. The law forbids sawed-off shotguns, sawed-off rifles, machine guns, and silencers. Knowing possession of these weapons can result in charges and the possibility of five-years of imprisonment.
Milton has laws that may seem confusing or contradictory. For example, it is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine, up to one year in prison, or both, just to point a gun at someone. However, under Georgia’s Stand Your Ground law, it is not necessary to attempt to retreat before using a gun in self-defense if someone believes another person is threatening their life. The Stand Your Ground law provides a potential defense if someone shoots a trespasser in their home at night.
Possession of firearms by someone with a domestic violence record is not automatically a crime. But under federal law, it is a crime punishable by up to 10 years in prison for someone with a misdemeanor family violence record, or a restraining order against them, to buy or own a firearm. Speak with a Milton gun lawyer to gain more insight on the possible outcomes of a gun charge conviction.
Enlist an Aggressive Milton Gun Attorney
The laws described above are just a few examples of the many laws governing gun ownership and use in Milton. While many laws in Milton strongly support an individual’s right to bear arms, there is still a tangle of statutes and restrictions that can lead to serious consequences.
If you face a gun charge, do not hesitate to seek the guidance of a Milton gun lawyer. An aggressive attorney could fight to defend you and your freedom. Call and set up a free consultation.