Being charged with any crime can be a frightening prospect that leaves a person with more questions than answers and a lot of uncertainty about the future.
Regardless of the charge, it is imperative to understand the charges, the penalties, and the available defenses. Hiring a knowledgeable defense attorney immediately after an arrest can put you in a better position to address your concerns while building a solid defense.
If you have been charged with a gun offense, contact a skilled Cherokee County gun lawyer that can guide you through the legal process while ensuring that your rights and future are protected.Gun Ownership and Disqualification
The only requirement to own a handgun is that the owner be over the age of 18, although there are multiple reasons that a person could later become disqualified. There is no requirement that an individual obtains a gun license to purchase a handgun. Further, there is no waiting period before an adult can take possession of a gun once they decide to purchase, but to make the purchase in Georgia, the buyer must have Georgia-issued identification.
The law does not permit ownership of all guns by civilians. It is illegal to own or possess fully automatic weapons, rocket launchers, silencers, and sawed-off rifles, among other weapons. Rifles that have not been altered are legal. People that have been convicted of drug offenses and other felonies, fugitives, and those that have pending felony offenses are prohibited from gun ownership in Georgia.
Additionally, individuals that either sought drug and/or alcohol treatment in a facility or were hospitalized in a mental institution are barred from obtaining a gun license for five years after their release date. The gun license prevents carrying concealed, but not gun ownership.Transporting Firearms
Those traveling in and through Georgia may not freely transport all firearms. If the individual has not been convicted of a felony, they may transport guns that are contained in gun cases in their vehicle.
There are other restrictions when transporting assault weapons, sawed-off shotguns, and silencers, among other weapons. Not carrying a firearm in compliance with Georgia law can result in the police charging the individual with illegally possessing a concealed weapon.Gun Carrying Restrictions
For an individual to legally carry a handgun on their person, they must be issued a carry license in Georgia, which can be applied for at the probate court in Cherokee County. Applicants must be 21 years old and must provide a copy of their fingerprints. Following the completion of a successful background check, the license is issued.
Carrying a concealed weapon prior to the issuance of a license may be criminally punished. It is a misdemeanor offense on the first occurrence, which is punishable with one-year incarceration and a fine up to $1,000. After the first offense, the charge is elevated to a felony offense.Consult with a Cherokee County Gun Attorney
If you have been charged with violation of a gun law in Cherokee County, Georgia, it would be a disservice to yourself if you did not contact an experienced Cherokee County gun lawyer for assistance. It is the only way to ensure that you are not navigating the criminal justice system without the guidance of someone whose only goal is to guarantee that your rights and interests are considered in any decision.