Gun control matters are contested issues and while the gun laws in Georgia are not nearly as strict as the laws in other parts of the country, there are regulations that gun owners must comply with. A Cobb County gun lawyer can help individuals facing a gun charge.
Possessing a gun without the legal right to do so, possessing an illegal firearm, and carrying a concealed weapon without a license is a criminally punishable offense that may have unexpected implications. Contact a professional gun attorney , if you have been charged with a gun related charge to ensure that your rights are protected.Gun Ownership
Selling, transporting, and using firearms in Georgia is regulated and those regulations are regularly enforced in Cobb County. Everyone that owns a gun is required to comply with the applicable state laws related to exercising their ownership rights. A gun owner that fails to comply with the applicable restrictions and/or regulations faces fines, incarceration, and depending on the charge, a loss of the right to own a firearm.
To legally own a handgun in Georgia, the owner must be over the age of 18. There are numerous reasons why an individual could be subsequently disqualified from gun ownership, but there are no additional prerequisites. Once a person is barred from gun ownership, the mere presence of a firearm in any incident that involves law enforcement can have serious consequences. A Cobb County gun lawyer knows more information regarding gun laws.Convicted Felons
People that have been convicted of a felony and have not had their civil liberties restored are prohibited from gun ownership. It is illegal for a convicted felon to live with someone that possesses guns and keeps them at home.
Possessing a gun as a convicted felon is a felony offense and is punished by imprisonment for at least one, but not more than five years. Fugitives and those that have pending felony charges are also prohibited from handgun ownership.Concealed Carry
People that wish to carry a handgun outside of their homes must apply for and be issued a Georgia Weapons Carry License. Obtaining a carry license requires the applicant to be at least 21 years of age.
The individual submits the application and a copy of their fingerprints in probate court in their county of residence, after which the judge requests a background check and a criminal records check. Georgia residents that are not disqualified from carrying a concealed weapon are issued the carry license approximately one month later.
When an individual carries a concealed handgun without a license to do so, they face criminal penalties. When it is a first offense, it is a misdemeanor offense, which is punishable by up to 12 months’ incarceration and a fine that does not exceed $1,000. Carrying a concealed handgun without a license is punishable by imprisonment for at least two, but not longer than five years because the offense is elevated to a felony offense. Talk to a Cobb County gun lawyer for more information.Other Restrictions
Additionally, people that have been hospitalized at a mental institution or sought drug and alcohol treatment in a facility are barred from obtaining a gun license for five years after the release date from the facility. Since a license is only necessary to carry a handgun, it is not, however, illegal to purchase or retain a gun immediately after seeking treatment.
Failure to present a valid hunting license or concealed carry license while carrying a gun in Georgia can have criminal consequences, and typically constitutes a misdemeanor offense. However, deliberately altering a valid weapons license is a felony offense, punishable by up to five years in prison.How a Cobb County Gun Attorney can Help
Being charged with any type of gun crime in Georgia is a serious matter. If you or a loved one find yourself facing gun charges, make sure to talk to a Cobb County gun lawyer as quickly as possible, so they can begin building a robust defense and ensure that your rights and freedoms are not being infringed upon.